Founded in 1882, Cuervo y Sobrinos has a prodigious history, enriched with many significant milestones along the way. By having a long history, there is an inference that a company possesses expertise and certainly over the coming pages there are many examples of the Maison’s virtuosity

However, while Cuervo y Sobrinos is proud of its past, it chooses to wholeheartedly embrace the future with magnificent watches that engender desire and confer lasting joy. Indeed, it is the company’s belief that its best years are yet to come.

Discover our history


Ramón Fernández Cuervo, an immigrant from northern Spain (Asturias) established his first jewellery store on Calle de la Amistad in Havana. This business was a precursor of Cuervo y Sobrinos.


Cuervo y Sobrinos was established this year.

Don Baldomero, Don Teodomiro, Don Jose Maria, Don Armando, Don Placido and Don Lisardo, the so-called ‘newphews’joined Ramón Fernández Cuervo in the new business. At this time,the firm’s shop was located at Calle del Teniente Rey 13.


The shop was prospering and the growing business required more space, the business moved to Calle de la Muralla 37.


In 1907, Mr. Ramón Fernández y Cuervo passed away. His nephew, D. Armando Fernández y Río, assumed responsibility for running the company.


Cuervo y Sobrinos opened a new store at Calle San Rafael y Aguila.


Having decided to expand its operations, Cuervo y Sobrinos opened two European facilities, a site in Pforzheim, Germany for the purchase of exclusive stones and an office in Paris, France for trading jewellery..


As the business continued to grow, the legal status of the firm changed from a limited liability company to a public limited company. This change helped perpetuate growth and attract new talent from outside the Cuervo family.


During the 1940s, the firm’s esteemed reputation spread and the company’s brand name became one of the best known in the American continent.


The Roaring 50s. Havana was the most luxurious city in the Caribbean and one of the most modern and energetic places within the American continent. The Boutique became a must-see destination for some of the most illustrious visitors to Havana. Caruso, Churchill, Einstein, Gable, Hemingway and Neruda were just some of the distinguished visitors to the Cuervo y Sobrinos boutique.


The Cuervo y Sobrinos boutique was nationalised by the government. This caused the firm to suffer a period of decline. It continued to produce military watches for the Cuban army which were used during the country’s intervention in Angola.

The brand became dormant shortly after and made no watches during this period. Nevertheless, the company’s former models still attracted much interest among watch collectors.


Luca Musumeci and Marzio Villa revived the Cuervo y Sobrinos name and the dawn of a new era began.


Initially, Cuervo y Sobrinos opened authorised retailers in Italy and Spain. Thereafter, the company expanded into Germany, Russia and the USA.


Cuervo y Sobrinos exhibited at Baselworld for the first time. The brand unveiled its Espléndidos, Prominente and Torpedo collections.


The company created the ‘Latino Award’, recognising the achievements of leading Latin figures. The inaugural prize was awarded to Spanish filmmaker, Pedro Almodovar.


The luxury marque unveiled its first in-house chronograph calibre, the CYS 2450.


The brand established its headquarters and atelier on the shore of the Capolago lake in the canton of Ticino.


Cuervo y Sobrinos opened its Havana museum and boutique in the central historic district of Havana.


Cuervo y Sobrinos marked its 130th anniversary with the release of a limited edition version of the Historiador.


Keen to recognise its 135th anniversary, the brand unveiled a special, limited edition Prominente.


The company was acquired by a team of investors from the watchmaking industry. Massimo Rossi became the CEO.


The Historiador 1519 was unveiled.This limited edition watch, restricted to 500 pieces, was designed to mark 2008 Havana’s 500th anniversary.


Cuervo y Sobrinos marked its 140th anniversary.